Merry Christmas from DePaul


Merry Christmas from DePaul: A Project Bluelight Production

The School of Cinematic Arts, in collaboration with the Division of Mission and Ministry at DePaul University, created a new annual Christmas tradition reminiscent of the fabled Christmas windows that once lined downtown State Street. Produced by animation and production design faculty and students, the Merry Christmas from DePaul window utilizes state-of-the-art technology to build an imaginative, 3-D experience rooted in the message and vision “Christmas at DePaul”—designed to touch our humanity, evoke a sense of communal joy, celebrate DePaul’s Catholic identity, and share the magic of Christmas.

The Merry Christmas from DePaul unveiling will take place on Thursday, November 7th outside of the Daley Building (247 South State Street).

Event Schedule

  • 5:00 - 5:20 pm - Screening and Q & A Panel, CDM Theatre, Daley Building - LL 105
  • 5:20 - 5:30 pm - Exhibit Unveiling, 247 South State St. (Daley Building Ext. Window)
  • 5:30 - 6:30 pm Reception – CDM Lighting Stage, Daley Building LL 107

The display will run from 8:00am to 9:30pm daily, through January 15, 2020.

Read more about the window animating the Loop Campus and how filmmakers, designers, and students collaborated on this new tradition.


Directed by

Meghann Artes
Devin Bell

Executive Producers

Scott Kelley, Ph.D.
Rev. Edward R. Udovic, C.M., Ph.D.
JoAnne Zielinski

Music by

Robert Steel

Sound Designer and Re-Recording Mixer

Travis Duffield

Lead Compositor

Shawn Spear

Window Installation Designer

John Corba

Living Room Set Production Designer

Noelle Thomas

Budget Manager

Jennifer McClelland

Storyboard Artists, R&D, Fabricators, Animators, Compositors, Camera, Motion Control, and Additional Sound Design

Danny Bock
Andrea Bosques
Marshall Brock
Gus Chvany
Gabi Fernandez
Austin Frick
Marina Gaglio
Celina Garduno
Mitchell Healy
Miles Hogerty
Alexandria Irby
Kayla Kade
Katie Keblusek
Alexis Lee
Mary Claire Leritz
Mia Lorentsen
Fred Maas
Selena Miller
Damian Radulovic
Ariel Reynoso
Tikal Rivera
Heidi Roster
Elisa Stanis
Kendrick Suenaga
Kris Tomasic
Thomas Urbin
Jackson Whipple

Special Thanks

Dean David Miller
Joe Lyons
Joanie McGrenera
Xiaoping Jia
Gina Zang
Olayele Adelakun
IRL Staff
Cinespace Staff